Skip to content

Fresh Start

I have been an errant blogger for several years, writing occasionally about cooking and crafting. I’m sort of terrible at writing, mainly because I am the Biggest Procrastinator in the World, but I’m giving myself a fresh start over here, with a new focus.

Eight weeks ago I had a baby named Willa. Everything has turned upside down. I look back on my amazing pregnancy and really wish I’d kept better documentation of the experience, because I know my memory will fade. So I’ve decided to document my life with my baby, my continued love of cooking and crafting, and my general anxiety about everything right here.

For no one to read.

Willa and I have an adventure a day. I started our adventures in an effort to stave off the baby blues. I was feeling shut-in, turned-off, lonely, and useless. Having an adventure a day with my infant daughter has saved me. The adventure is usually something as simple as a walk up to the cafe for a latte or a trip to the grocery store, but some of our adventures have been more exciting, like Mommy and Me Movies or a trip to the museum. Sometimes, the adventure has to do with Mommy Not Going Crazy So She Gets a Pedicure And Leaves Baby With Daddy. And this weekend, the adventure was leaving Wee Willa for longer than an hour for the first time, so we could go to a wedding in Malibu.

So, for anyone in the world reading this, hi. Hopefully I will still post recipes, crafting ideas, design inspiration, etc. But mostly, I just want to be this little girl’s mumma, and that’s all I want to talk about.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    June 23, 2010
  2. Tracie #

    Hi Leonora! I found your blog through the Rookie Moms post you did and I’m excited to read about your adventures as a new mommy in LA. I live in El Sereno with my husband and son, who’s almost 11 months old. I wish I’d taken the time to write about life with him because I’ve already forgotten so much. That’s why I love blogs like yours that remind me of all the milestones that seem a long time ago.
    Oh, FYI – the font you use for your blog is really REALLY hard to read. I checked in both IE and Firefox and just about went cross-eyed. Just thought you might want to know.
    Good luck with mommyhood and the blog! Looking forward to reading more.

    July 3, 2010
    • Hi Tracie! Thanks for reading and for the kind words. I agree about the font, it was driving me crazy! I’ve changed it – hopefully it reads better now. Thanks again!

      July 3, 2010

Leave a Reply

